Hydration Help

T_Nicole

Hi all, I am pretty new to chameleon keeping and I have been having trouble keeping my veiled hydrated. He is a male veiled chameleon and is almost 4 months old. I have a mister that goes off once before his lights come on and once before they go off for 2 minutes. I also have a dripper that I have had dripping most of the day. My problem is that my chameleon is not drinking and is becoming dehydrated. When the dripper is dripping he shoots his tongue at the droplets and almost never catches them and he always runs from the mister. I have also added hornworms daily as I have heard that they help with hydration. The past two days his urates as been pretty dry and is getting a darker orange. I'm getting worried because I have heard they can go down quick when they get dehydrated. His eyes are not sunken yet and today I resorted to dropping water on his head from the top of the screen to try and get some water in him. Is there anything else that I can do to help hydrate him. Also I have filled out the info sheet in a previous post for reference. Thanks!

Dont turn on the myster when hes asleep. Theres no point in that. You should myst about half an hour to one hour after he gets up and then in the middle of the day. Dont myst 2 minutes before lights go off either. How do you know he’s getting dehydrated? They are shy drinkers. Its normal for you not to see him drink often.

Dont turn on the myster when hes asleep. Theres no point in that. You should myst about half an hour to one hour after he gets up and then in the middle of the day. Dont myst 2 minutes before lights go off either. How do you know he’s getting dehydrated? They are shy drinkers. Its normal for you not to see him drink often.