Husbandry Review- I'm new to this

sebastianzhall

I'm new to owning reptiles, so I figured what's the best way to get information than to do a butt-load of research on them online? Tell me what I can improve upon, wise ones.

Chameleon Info:
Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
Veiled cham, male, a year and 3 or 4 months. He's been in my care for a little over a year.

Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
I try to handle him as little as possible, but my father (who I was previously living with) has a hard time keeping his hands to himself. I think he would take him out every other day or so, but I have only handled him a couple of times since moving (1 week ago) to shower him.

Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?
Mostly we stick to crickets because it's what he's most interested in, but recently I've been gutloading with mustard greens, carrots and mango. I also feed him mustard greens, dandelion greens, carrots and mango. I feed him every other day, about 4 or 5 crickets.

Supplements - What brand and type of calcium and vitamin products are you dusting your feeders with and what is the schedule?
Every few feedings I dust the crickets in Rep-Cal Phosphorus free calcium with D3.

Watering - What kind of watering technique do you use? How often and how long to you mist? Do you see your chameleon drinking?
I have a Little Dripper drip system, but additionally I mist him 5+ times daily by hand. I also hand-water him with the spray bottle 3-4 times daily. (The water is treated with Zoo Med reptisafe water conditioner.)

Fecal Description - Briefly note colors and consistency from recent droppings. Has this chameleon ever been tested for parasites?
Slightly dry, but I'm working on re-hydrating. White urates. He has not been tested for parasites.