How should I go about taking a new chameleon out of his cage

DiannaBanana

TLDR: I have a new, young chameleon who isn’t comfortable with me handling him yet, but I need to clean his cage.

Hello! I am new to the wonderful world of chameleons! I’ve done months of research and studying and, finally, I’ve purchased my first chameleon! He is a healthy, 5 month old Veiled Chameleon, and I love him with my whole heart. I’ve had him for about 3 weeks now. His enclosure is from the ZooMed chameleon kit, but I’ve added more things for him. He has plenty of sticks to climb on, a bunch of foliage (both real and fake), and he seems very happy where he is! He is almost always a bright green color, but sometimes he develops black dots when I approach too abruptly for his liking. I try to only go into the cage while sitting down on a chair in front of it (he is on my desk and usually hangs out at the top of the cage, so he’s way higher than me when I sit), and I only go in for feeding and misting. That being said, his cage is beginning to get a little dirty, and I want to clean it, but I don’t want to freak him out and I know he isn’t exactly comfortable with me yet. He will not eat out of my hands just yet, but has become comfortable with me feeding him off of the tongs. I know I have a long way to go with building trust between us, but what do you suggest I do in the mean time so that I can clean his enclosure? Also, if you have any other advice, I’d love to hear it! Thanks!

Also, I attached a picture of his enclosure! I am getting a bigger UVB light for him soon.

Attachments

• 1A8CE69F-5465-47BF-A3C1-A48D9CBAC423.jpeg
    1A8CE69F-5465-47BF-A3C1-A48D9CBAC423.jpeg
    121.8 KB · Views: 108
Mine will hiss and open mouth and scares me. Comes out and crawls on couch and carpet and when gets tired of exploring gets on hand. Then it is back in cage.