Hi Im new to this and dont know what to believe!

thebishmeister

Hi Im Neil from Brighton, UK.

Ive wanted a chameleon for years but I decided to start off with Leopard Gecko to get used to looking after a reptile. Im a loving pet owner and will always do whats right for the pet regardless of time and money.

However Ive been reading up on Chameleons for a while now and theres so much conflicting opinions on these wonderful reptiles.

I wanted to buy a veiled chameleon and have a few questions answered.

Are they show pets? So many people say they like being handled and so many people say you should never handle them!

Verticle or horizontal tank? (I thought verticle tank)

I really wanna be able to hold the lizard whislt watching tv etc!

Chameleons are definitely "show" animals. Though many will tolerate handling, most are (veileds in particular, in my experience) are stressed by the handling. I am not saying that you should never handle them, but it is best to keep it to a minimum. Veileds are pretty aggresive chameleons and will lunge and hiss at you (and yes, try to bite you!) letting you know that they obviously do not want to be messed with.

For my adult chameleons, I keep them in cages that are 5 feet high and 3 1/2 feet wide. My veileds seem to enjoy the horizontal space just as much as they enjoy the vertical space.

I only handle my veiled when I am transfering it to the outside cage, shower, vet trip,etc. I try not to bother him too much. I handle him once every two weeks and thats for only a couple of seconds when I'm taking him to his outside enclosure.

Regarding handling of my Veil

Hi!
I personally feel that Veils or Panthers should be handled on a daily basis so that they will learn to feel comfortable having a hand come toward them and be taken out of their cage with minimal stress.