HE PUT A CLAW ON MY FINGER MY DAY IS MADE!! 😍😂🙃🫠

Steve A

Chameleon Enthusiast
So I received my order of dubias and hornworms today. I put a few dubia in his cup, and then tried to hand feed him a hornworm. He wasn't ready to bite my head off, but he wasn't eating it from my finger either lol. So I backed off, let the enclosure stay open and then he just randomly started hustling right to me. He came up to the edge of the enclosure so I put my finger under him. He wasn't standoffish, but was also not sure. At this point I had my finger right under him. I decided to get a little 'aggressive' because he was really seeming to want to climb on me finally. He slowly put 1 claw on my finger and just kinda sat there lol. I can't really hold myself still for very long. my hands shake if I try to be real still (which he probably hates lol). I've been playing guitar for like 30 years now and I think that's a contributing factor to that. Not sure what else it would be tbh. Anyway..... so I slowly pulled my hand away, not wanting to push him further. He didnt like that. He opened his mouth and hissed at me and retreated.

I wanted to give him a break so I closed his enclosure and just kinda sat there observing him while he was eating. After he ate, he look hustled over to me again.... this time even faster than before. And again he went to the edge of the enclosure right where I was. He even put his claw on the front screen (which I have never seen him do at all ever to date). However, when I went to open the enclosure he got real angry, threatening to bite and hissed lol. So I just left. I'm not sure what this behavior is (it is TOTALLY new with him) but I feel good about it. Although he seems to really not want to eat from my hands anymore..... I feel like we are making strides with him climbing on my hand. He really seemed to 'want' to do it and was very confident in coming towards me. I think he's just still not quite sure lol Anyway.... I took some pics when I could