College & Chameleon Advice

tecornell2

Alright! I'm a new member, and I had an epiphany last Sunday - I've always wanted a chameleon (since my third grade animal report). My cousin has raised reptiles and I've owned numerous pets before (leopard gecko, cats, dogs, fish, rabbits). So, the last few days I've jam packed every podcast, video, and this forum's threads to prepare myself for a future male Panther chameleon.

Only issue is, I'm an undergrad in college stuck in the dorms (no pets allowed). So I've come here for possible advice - let's say I move into a pet-friendly condo/house with roommates by August 2020, with room to set up my dream cham enclosure (Dragon Strand Medium Atrium, DIY pond foam background, a Mist King, all live plants; the whole nine yards).

Has anyone had experience moving with chameleons (ie. moving apartments/houses)? Or being a college student with a cham? Has anyone traveled to take their chameleon "home" over breaks (5/6 hour drive for me)? Can chameleons be transported if I were to take a 45 min flight? Would it be better to find long term chameleon sitters during these time periods - and has one had success with that?

With so many variables I need to consider, I'm hoping to find someone who's been in this position/thought about this possibility. I do not want to own a cham for a year, and then be in a position where I have to get rid of him. The beauty is that I have plenty of time to decide and save money. Of course though, I'm anxious for answers now.

If anyone can give me advice, it would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited: