beginner here with lots of questions!!

emmagrace22

Hi there!! So I've been researching about these little buddies for quite a while now and have finally decided to get one! I will be getting a male panther chameleon in a few months but thought it would be a good idea to start building and setting up the enclosure now to make sure everything runs properly and will be ready and safe for the little guy when he arrives. ( and to also not break my bank at one time- )

I've heard many different things about what kind of enclosure to purchase and I think a hybrid cage (mesh and glass) would work best. I live in Georgia USA and the weather here is known to have some extreme mood swings, for example snow and temps in the high 70s in the same week- the humidity also fluctuates like crazy here. For this reason, I'm worried about an entirely mesh enclosure as I want to make sure it stays at the right humidity and temperature. It can also get very hot here and I know the mesh would give proper ventilation. Is this okay? and are there any cages on the market with both?? I have the space for a 2x3x5!
- another thing as well is the substrate. I've seen so many people have different opinions about this and I've seen some people use paper towels?? I also have sugar gliders and use paper towels in the pull out tray at the bottom and thought it would work for chameleons as well?? So for that you would just line the bottom of the cage with the towels and place everything else on top and replace the towels (daily i assume?) right?

What equipment is needed? Like what kind of lights, humidifyer, mister, safe plants and vines, draining systems (I'm not sure exactly what these do or how they work so please let me know!) thermometers, etc. and just any other absolute necessities?

What do they eat and in what quantities? How often?

What age can they be purchased and where/how?

Do you have to have a small cage for when theyre little?