Solarmeter

If you want an accurate one that is good quality and not some piece of junk that is going to give you false readings, then it won't exactly be "affordable" ....... as the good, accurate models can be quite pricey.

Ok I'm new at this....what is it and what is it for?
Its mainly for:
when to change the uv bulbs
And is snuckums getting enough uv to begin with

The current good one is a solarmeter 6.5. Its has a wider uv band and doesnt have the hug spike at the deep uvb band that the older 6.2 has. Your bulb could be putting out crap, have a huge spike in the uvc that bleeds into the deep uvb, and your 6.2 would say you are good to go.

Your best bet is to get a 6.5, and you want it to read about .5 where the cham mostly hangs out.

They cost alot ($250) but if it means switching bulbs every 2-3 years instead of 6 months, it can pay for itself over time.

https://www.chameleonforums.com/threads/is-uvb-10-harmful.128206/#post-1121612
https://www.chameleonforums.com/threads/solarmeter-reading.139937/

Its mainly for:
when to change the uv bulbs
And is snuckums getting enough uv to begin with

The current good one is a solarmeter 6.5. Its has a wider uv band and doesnt have the hug spike at the deep uvb band that the older 6.2 has. Your bulb could be putting out crap, have a huge spike in the uvc that bleeds into the deep uvb, and your 6.2 would say you are good to go.

Your best bet is to get a 6.5, and you want it to read about .5 where the cham mostly hangs out.

They cost alot ($250) but if it means switching bulbs every 2-3 years instead of 6 months, it can pay for itself over time.

https://www.chameleonforums.com/threads/is-uvb-10-harmful.128206/#post-1121612
https://www.chameleonforums.com/threads/solarmeter-reading.139937/
Thanks. :oops:

I'm lurking on this thread for a bit to see others' opinions popup. Definitely interested in getting a solar meter.