Sexing juvenile panther chameleon

YangLiang

Hello,

I was hoping someone could accurately sex my 5.5 month old panther chameleon. I got it in Shanghai around 7 weeks ago and the seller told me it was "definitely a male".

Will upload some photos.
Thank you

Attachments

• 20240125_074152.jpg
    20240125_074152.jpg
    217.7 KB · Views: 21
  • 20240125_074149.jpg
    20240125_074149.jpg
    270.4 KB · Views: 22
  • 20240125_074143.jpg
    20240125_074143.jpg
    208.6 KB · Views: 20
  • 20240125_074135.jpg
    20240125_074135.jpg
    197.5 KB · Views: 21
  • Screenshot_20240125_071952_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20240125_071952_Gallery.jpg
    348.6 KB · Views: 19
I see a small bulge by the vent, and some coloring but I am no expert so let rest chime in before taking my word.
Usually a bulge, thicker tail and color shows are signs of boys with panthers. 😊

I initially thought I saw a hemipenes bulge, but then I looked closer. I’m thinking you have a girl. While the base of the tail does have some size to it, I’m not seeing a bulge. Also, a male would be showing his colors and patterns by now. This is my panther when he was 3 months old. You can plainly see his hemipenal bulge and his colors/patterns. Do you know what type of panther or locale you have? Ambilobe, Ambanja, Nosy Be, etc.
IMG_5060.jpeg

Thanks for your comments.

I also personally feel it's a female for the reasons you mentioned.

It's such a shame that panthers can't be so easily sexed like vieled chameleons can. I've shown Bowser to at least 30 people and it's split right down the middle about it being a male or a female for various different reasons.

One guy said, "I've 30 years experience, trust me, it's a male" whilst ignoring the lack of colour, lack of pointy snout and lack of bulge under the base of the tail.

A different seller over here in china told me that in China, they usually advertise all baby panthers as males because the price of the females is 70% lower.