Monstera Deliciosa (Swiss Cheese Plant)

AZJ0SH

I have been using Monstera Deliciosa in my enclosure for a few months now, and I just came across a post on here saying it's toxic, except for the fruit? (mine doesn't grow fruit)

I read on the FLChams 'Safe Plant List' that the Monstera deliciosa is safe for chameleons, so I am a bit confused.

I could not find any info online saying it's toxic, but I don't want to risk harming my chameleon. He hasn't ever chomped on the plants, the only plants he eats are the pothos leaves.

I love the plant because of the big leaves and how fast it grows new leaves, but don't want to do any harm to my chameleon, any advice?\

Here is a picture I found on google of what it looks like for refrence, my cham loves the shade under the big leaves at times, esepcially during mistings haha

Monstera_deliciosa.jpg

That's a super cool looking plant. I've no idea if it's toxic or not but I would think FL chams would be correct, someone else will chime in though.

That's a super cool looking plant. I've no idea if it's toxic or not but I would think FL chams would be correct, someone else will chime in though.

Yeah my chameleon loves it, and when it sprouts a new branch, that branch will grow 1-2 inches a day, very fast compared to most plants. Plus they remind me more of jungle-style leaves compared to my pothos and schleffera.

I might have to get one for my adult cage when it's time to switch. Where did you get it? Did you have to go to a specialty nursery or did you find it in a common place like home depot?

I might have to get one for my adult cage when it's time to switch. Where did you get it? Did you have to go to a specialty nursery or did you find it in a common place like home depot?

I actually took cuttings off my moms, and she purchased it over 7 years ago from Home Depot. I am not sure if they sell them there anymore, I have never seen them myself.