gut loading? this may sound dumb

tagerlilly18

Hey guys this may sound dumb but I'm new to chams and would rather ask than have something go wrong with my little guy. I know gut loading is feeding your bugs good stuff and I was on the food and nutrition part about what foods are good for it. I've seen recipes and what not about dry mixes too and putting fruits and veggies in a dicer. I'm just a bit confused about it. Do I sprinkle the dry mix on like a carrot and fit that to them? Or dice up certain vegetables then mix the dry stuff in with it? Then there's commercial mixes. Do I just dump some of that in the cricket cage? Or put it on vegetables? I'm sure this is a really simple thing I'm just totally in the dark about it.

You don't have to mix the stuff.

I use Repashy's Superload gutload 24-48 hrs prior to feeding the bugs to my herps. It's a dry powder. I have a special "deathrow" cricket keeper that my doomed crickets stay in that has the Repashy's powder in a little dish. This gutload is more expensive than the cheap fluker's cricket food but it really brings out the colors in my animals. Brighter coloration generally means that their immune system is stronger.

Oh, also you can use carrots or other veggies as the water source for the crickets, but the actual gutload (Repashy's in my case) is the most important part. I add grapes to one side of the cricket keeper and a dish of Repashy's to the other side. I don't mix dry gutload with the grapes.