Concerned!

ChamelaChameleon

Chameleon Enthusiast
Carmelo is an adopted Cham so I have no background or age information. For the past 5 months he has been falling to the bottom of his enclosure. I removed his center plants and installed a horizontal, plastic honeycomb barrier to prevent him from falling to the floor. I took him to an Exotic Vet - blood work, fecal, and general exam was completed. Carmelo received a clean bill of health. He seems to have good grip strength but the falling and odd sleep positions continue. He falls once every 2 weeks. I just found him on the bottom most branch, hanging g on with a front claw and a back claw. The other claws were dangling. I moved him and placed him in a more comfortable position. It seems like he is in a deep sleep and so relaxed that he forgets to keep all hands on the branches. This happens several times a week. He eats well, a new uvb was installed late October. The only thing that stands out is that one eye seems slightly sunken. The other eye is normal. See pics below; Left eye seems sunken, Right eye is just fine. He just completed a full face shed. I wonder if he rubbed his eye on a branch, too hard. The eyes are not closed.

Attachments

• 20240222_183612.jpg
    20240222_183612.jpg
    321.9 KB · Views: 23
  • 20240222_183351.jpg
    20240222_183351.jpg
    142.4 KB · Views: 18
  • 20240222_185208.jpg
    20240222_185208.jpg
    127.6 KB · Views: 21
  • 20240222_185056.jpg
    20240222_185056.jpg
    117.4 KB · Views: 25
how stressful I’m sorry you and your darling boy are going through that. Chameleons aren’t known for falling so I would keep looking to find out what is causing him to fall. He does look a bit overweight. Is he on a diet? What is your supplement schedule? What uvb light do you have? Can you share a pic of his enclosure including the lights on the top please?

Tagging some ladies who can also help in case if I’m not available. @Beman @MissSkittles