Back from Zambia with a question!

Andie

Avid Member
Hello, All!

Just returned from an amazing missions trip to Zambia. While there, I searched high and low, hoping to see some chams, but to no avail.

Then it dawned on me; It's the dry season. No rain, means no water, means no chams!

Here's the question: Where on earth do they go?

We visited a small safari park and I asked the animal expert there if he thought they migrated (because I hadn't heard of them doing that) and he said they do. So, where would they migrate to, since all of sub-Saharan Africa is in the dry season.

Any of you experts out there have an answer to this? I was so disappointed not to see them in their natural environment......but I did have an awesome cheetah encounter to make up for it. LOL!

Different species probably have different ways they cope and I'm no expert. Consider that some may just hunker down low in very dense shrubs where they are protected and it might be a tiny bit more humid, others may go into some sort of torpor (not the right term, but something like a lower metabolic state to save energy), and others might migrate vertically or horizontally using corridors along streams or rivers. I would guess that whatever they choose they are a lot harder to spot! Hope you had an amazing trip!!!

IMG_5898.PNG
Sorry you didn't see any chams, but I think we'd all love to see pics of your cheetah encounter if you have any!
How's this?. ;)
We walked them and got to pet them. They are the most exquisite creatures I've encountered face to face!

oh my gosh thats so cool that you got to see them up close! its so funny, they have the exact same facial expression and are looking in the same direction:LOL: