Wine cooler vs. compact fridge - worm temp regulation

LoosePin15

Good evening! First, let me start by stating that this is my first post, so I'll apologize in advance if it's too long.

Secondly, I'm a newbie. I have a 4/5-month-old veiled that I purchased from FL Chams (couldn't be happier) about a month ago and he seems extremely happy. He eats without hesitation and thanks to what I learned from people here, I am feeding him a variety of insects (crickets, roaches, worms, etc.) on a daily basis.

My question is this: I'm looking for a good way to keep hornworms longer. I have a "bug room" in my garage, but living in Memphis, it can get toasty (85-ish) in the room during the summer. Given that, and the fact that "Chip" loves hornworms as a treat, I'm looking for a way to keep the worms from growing so rapidly. Since I only feed him one a day at most, I'd like to find a way to keep them from outgrowing his size limit before I feed them off.

I understand that if you keep the worms at 55-60 degrees, they don't grow nearly as fast, so I was wondering what others do to keep their worms cool. Right now, I'm torn between buying a small wine cooler or small compact fridge, but I was wondering if anyone had experience with either to keep their worms at a constant temp to dissuade fast growth.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

I use a wine cooler and keep it set at 65. You can only cool them down part of the time or it will kill them. I keep mine in the cooler in the day time and take them out out night since it's cooler at night.

What's your boy's name? Any pictures?

Hey jannb, thanks for the info! I was under the impression that the worms could be kept at lower temps indefinitely to keep them from growing, so I appreciate the feedback.

My boy's name is Chip and there should be a photo included here.
loosepin15-albums-chip.html