Potential Greenhouse Build

Fretfreak13

Hello CF! This is my first post on this forum, and even though I am a beginner I thought I'd hang out on the freerange fourm because of the greenhouse plan I'd like to put into play. Also, you'll soon learn I type a lot, but I try to bold important things to be less annoying.

Currently I am a 19 year old college student and having a little reptilian buddy is out of the question for me for the next few years, so please keep in mind that any whacky idea I throw out as a new keeper will be researched for at least three years before it is attempted. Please don't tell me "you need to do more research, you dumb noob", that's why I joined this joint. ;] Please pick apart my plans and help me fix them.

My true passion is saltwater reef aquariums and at the moment, seahorses. From what I've seen, chameleon proofing seems a bit like pony-proofing an aquarium, but without the water. I've worked at a public aquarium for awhile, and now work at a saltwater fish store because I prefer the small-business atmosphere.

My dad and I are very aquatic-involved, and what originally sparked this idea was the fact that his 2ft+ Japanese koi are being left to me in his will, and many of them are older than I am! They currently live in a 15,000 gallon + pond that he dug and planted with his bare hands. Because I am so young, I know the first house I live in out of college will probably not be my last, so I really don't want to dig a pond until I know I'm staying put for awhile. My next idea was to build an above-ground pond similar to the one pictured here.

Most likely to be cost effective, the pond frame will be built with cemented cinder blocks and a pond liner, strategically decorated with either cobblestones or thick tree branches cut length-wise and attached to the sides to make it look a bit more nature-oriented.

2yv1em1.png

Onto the cham...