Failure to acclimate?

chamlover

I bought a w/c melleri about 6-8 mos ago and everything was going fine. How many times have you heard that? Anyway, now she/he has stopped eating every day, which doesn't concern me too much because she doesn't eat very much anyway, but recently she has not been drinking very much, some days not at all. She has never drank from a dripper, only when i spray her, which is 2x day, sometimes for up to 30 min. Today she didn't drink again and i am really beginning to worry that it is failure to acclimate. The guy i got her from said he had her for 3 mos but i have never done business with him before and it was at a reptile show so i don't know for sure. She did go to the vets when i got her and was treated for parasites. Nothing else seems to be wrong! Nothing has changed in that time except for lack of drinking. I don't need to shower her because she is in a cage that has a bucket underneath so i can water her till my hearts content, but she will not drink. She does look a little dehydrated but not much. Any suggestions? Do you think i might be right? And if i am, what can i change, if anything, to help prevent this from getting worse? She does have an egg-laying bucket in there, just in case it is a female but i haven't seen any evidence of that either.

Debby

Do yo have a recent photo of her? Kristina seems to be able to tell alot from skin color, eyes, etc. We've only had Mellers since October, so we're not vastly experienced. Ours get sprayed automatically several times a day, in a free range, and our female usually goes to her spray spot a few minutes before the afternoon spray session. I did notice yesterday and the day before she was avoiding her misting. I hand mist them, as well, to be certain they are drinking. Such a delicate species. Have you changed her water temp or anything like that?

A photo would help, for the more seasoned folks to get an idea of her overall condition.