10g vs 20g for Pygmy Chameleons?

AZJ0SH

So my wife was browsing the forum today and came across pictures of pygmy chameleons and fell in love, I think it's due to their size and "cuteness" factor, but I gave in and told her we can get some, not letting her know I secretly want them myself. :D

I have two empty tanks from my days as a freshwater fish hobbyist, I cleaned them out and checked for leaks today. So now I am trying to figure out what one I should use.

I only want 1 male and 2 females, or maybe just 1 male and 1 female. Can I keep them in a 10g, or should I use the 20g?

I am reading up on pygmy keeping currently, I plant to purchase sometime in September or October once I know everything about keeping them.

I would say go with the 20. You can always start with a 1.1 group, and add more females later. Plus it gives more room to be creative with the design and furnishings.

I would say go with the 20. You can always start with a 1.1 group, and add more females later. Plus it gives more room to be creative with the design and furnishings.

What happens if my chams have babies, how many can you fit total in a 20g?

Also, would I have to separate the babies to prevent inbreeding? I could always keep the 10g for any babies I get I guess or just sell the babies.

You will have to seperate to prevent inbreeding and males fighting. Just thinking out loud here, you could set up the 10, and then partition the 20 out to hold different groups of babies and males, till you sell or re-house them.

From what I read the max ratio for pygmy's is 2 femals for 1 male, is that correct?

Also, there seems to be a lot of different kinds of pygmys, but they're all WC is that normal? No CB pygmys out there to buy?