a small cut of some sort on my panther's chin.... someone help?

trickedoutbiker

Avid Member
Okay so a few days after Thanksgiving, I noticed my panther chameleon Kyú had a small scratch/cut of some sort on his chin. I'm not 100% sure how this happened, but I have a general idea. Right before Thanksgiving, he shed his skin. My first idea: he might of got the cut sometime during that shedding while rubbing around on everything in his cage. I'm not sure how that might have caused a cut, as I ran my finger over pretty much every surface of the cage and found no sharp edges.

The second idea I have, is that, I had to bring him with me during Thanksgiving, because I was going to be gone for 4 days, and had nobody here at my house to look after him for me (I am new to Indianapolis, IN as of a year ago, and have nobody I trust enough to come to my house while I'm not home) He is about 5 months old (about 5 at Thanksgiving, he is about 6 months old now) and I didn't trust leaving him with my neighbor either, as my neighbor is a heavy smoker and that kind of air is bad for chameleons. Anyways, the drive to where I was going is a two hour drive. I put Kyú in a small box, lined with a shirt as to cushion him from bouncing around and to absorb a bit of vehicle vibrations. The box was a small cardboard shoe box, completely dark inside as well (minus the few holes here and there in the lid for air). There was also a couple small sticks for him to grab onto if he wanted. I also put a small paper towel in there which was half-soaked with hot water before the trip to kind of give the box some warmth as well as humidity. Monitored the temps on the drive with a digital thermometer inside the box, and everything seemed fine.