Unexpectedly acquired breeding group..

Susan

Hello Everyone, I would first like to introduce myself my name is Susan I live in Ontario Canada and I have recently and unexpectedly acquired a fantastically colored group of adult panther chameleons Ambilobe and Nosy Be’s.

I have lots of experience breeding geckos and pythons but not so much with breeding chameleons. I have hatched out a couple of clutches of Veiled Chameleons in the past but I am sure there are some differences with breeding panthers. I have a couple of questions that only experience will answer; I was hoping I could get some help.

First off, all of the panthers are captive bred from a reputable breeder in the U.S. I am their third owner it seems not including the breeder. I have heard that breeding captive bred panther to captive bred panther has been known to cause weakness in offspring, is this true? I have lineages for all of these chameleons and it seems there is a good genetic mix, should I be concerned? I do plan on adding some wild blood to any offspring that I hold back for future breeding.