The duplex is complete

ncosper

3 weeks of work, several hundred bucks spent (not including the chameleons), and a whole lot of late nights went into this cage. I think everyone that builds a cage sees the flaws where everyone else doesn't seem too, but overall I am very pleased with the result. I tried to really not leave anything that I would have wished I'd done in the beginning for a later date. I also decided to do everything from scratch, the cabinet, drainage, everything.

I intended on doing a full how-to on the cage, but as the nights grew longer and longer the less and less went into the journal. And as the new house came on the market (I'm a Realtor), the camera went to work and missed a huge check on construction. Right now I am only going to post the completed shots, but I'll get around to posting some of the construction pics soon.

Here is what went into this. I used solid poplar hardwood for the cabinets, front doors, and thin shelving. I intend to build a roof to cover the cans at some point.

Dimensions are 24" front to back, 41" left to right, 48" (of cage) top to bottom. Left cage is about 24", right is 16" (1" due to divider). It will cage an adult pair of Ambilobe panthers.

I used 2x2's for most of the framing, some 1x2's.

I used fiberglass screen as I intended to exclusively cup feed.

Lighting is two can lights (60 w halogen bulbs), painted black, two 18" fluorescent reptisun 10.0's.

I have a mistking nozzle for each side, I also plumbed in two cents from a coolmist humidifier. These blast right down on the pothos plants and seem to work great.

I used coated hardware cloth 1/4" for the bottom screening area, this is above the poop tray. Below this cloth is the poop tray, a removable screen that holds the poop :rolleyes:.