Newbie here! What advice do you have?

PascalsMama

Hello! My name is Katie, I am 24 and got my first veiled cham on Saturday, his name is Pascal. My girls named him Pascal because of the movie Tangled. :p My husband and I have 3 kids, 2 dogs- one American Eskimo and one Chihuahua, 2 cats-one all white long haired that we aren't sure of the breed, and one Bengal, 1 bearded dragon, 2 Chinese water dragons, 3 rats, and of course our newest- our veiled chameleon. I am a student and of course a Mom, and I love having all of these animals to teach our children about. I want them to grow up respecting animals and learning about them, and especially not to be afraid of them. It has been such a learning experience so far, they love them and know a lot about them, more than most adults that don't have lizards. :p

What advice do you have for me? What do you wish you would have known when you bought your chameleon? I've read many different websites online, but personal experience is always nice to hear.

I've heard different things about feeding crickets. My veiled is about 2 inches long not including the body- maybe a little more. How many crickets would you recommend feeding him? The guy @ the pet store said 5-6 small crickets every other day, but our cham seems to want to eat way more, and we have been feeding him every day, and more than 5-6. We put a bunch in the cage, some hide so he can't even find them, so we put about 10-15 in there every day.

Also- I was wondering about the glass vs. screen cages. I know air flow is important. What cage do you have & why?

Thanks so much, I have read these forums already and look forward to talking with you all and learning a whole lot more!

:)

Well first off, welecome to the forum! This is a wonderful site chocked full of great info and good people. :)

Now i do recomend a screen enclosure. The air flow is very important.