maggots in cricket container

booshified

Now I am new to this but this last batch of crickets I got a lot of maggots in in after a few days. I cleaned it out and transferred the crickets but again after a few days I got more maggots. The batch before I didnt have any.

i was just wondering if there was anyway to help minimize this?

thanks for any input

crickets are a dirty game....the best you can do is to

a. make sure your source of crickets is reputable...there will always be a few bugs...but if you are getting tons of maggets, thats an indication that there is larvae pre existent in your cricket shipment or w/e

b keep them in a bug free or screened in area, if you don't have one...make one...this will really help

c as long as there are bugs and crickets dying it is always a good idea to be continually transferring into a cleaner rubbermaid tub.... i always keep an extra around and this helps over all cricket health

also i suggest using the gelled version of cricket drink so there is no activer water source for maggots

good luck

that's happened to me too, and everything went downhill from there, they started dying like crazy and it was a pain to keep clean, everyday there was a new handful of dead ones so I was constantly cleaning them and throwing out the dying/paralyzed ones trying to quarantine the healthy ones but it was such a hassle and so time consuming I couldn't keep up. I lost about 1500 crickets in a 3 week period, but some of the die offs could of been due to their size/age though too.

needless to say, since then I haven't been buying 1000 crickets at a time anymore, by fear of wasting my money again