Looking for info on Ellioti

Greenstar

Hi all,

I am new to the forum and fairly new to chameleons. I have been working with dartfrogs since 2000, geckos since 03 and most recently chameleons for the last 2 months or so. Right now I have 1.3 R. Brevicaudatus and 1.2 temporalis, all are doing great, eating and drinking regularily. Because I am I perfer to not keep large animals I.E. anything over 6" , I am thinking of getting 1.2 or possibly 2.4 Ellioti. Information I have found about them is scarce and conflicting even from personal accounts. From what I have gathered the like mild tempatures, low to mid 70's nothing over 85, enjoy large night time drops in tempature. They need high humidity, good ventaltion and are vivaporous. I don't know about there diet, lighting needs i.e. UVA/UVB requirement, frequency of breeding, hardiness, or general day to day care. Also does anyone know if they are aggressive towards conspecifics, because one person told me he was keeping 1.2 WC together happy and breeding for about 2 years before he sold the project but Adcham says they are highly aggresive towards each other?

Any help is appreciated,
Danny

Whoa! How did I miss a post about Elliots? :eek:

Sounds like you've done a bit of reading on the species and I'd have to agree with most things you said. I try not to let my ambient temps in my chameleon room go over 80F. My nightime is usually 65-70F. Humidity is 70% during the day and 100% overnights. My ellioti are doing well in those conditions. Anything over 80F and they start looking pale and unhappy.

Food wise, I have yet to get any of my WC's or F1's to eat soft bodied bugs like silks or hornworms. They just don't seem to understand them. However, my ellioti will eat anything crunchy like crix, roaches, mantids and flies. They loooooooove flies.