How much time is necessary for caring for a chameleon

gaia

So. I'm in college and am putting serious thought into buying a panther chameleon to take care of. I've read online that these specific animals require persistant dedication and I'm wondering if there are any college students out there who can vouch for the possibility of juggling both chameleon care with their studies.

Also: any tips for whether to get a male vs. female? How much $ a month is typically spent on food, electricity? And how many times per day must a chameleon be fed in the beginning?

Thanks so much!

I am currently a student at SDSU and I own a abanja panther and a preying mantis and I do fine. Plus I am taking 20 units and have a part time job as well where i work 20 hours a week. When I wake up in the morning I will take some time to feed my chameleon and mantis and give him a good spraying. I also put a dripper in there that will drip till I get home. They will eat everyday about 6-8 crickets a day depending on the size. They can become a burden. My suggestion breed your own feeders it is so much easier. I cannot say on the electricity bill though. You might want to look at the traffic in the house as well because it don't want it to have a lot of traffic around the cage it will stress him out. In the end you definitely can but it isn't the easiest thing to have.

in all honesty, I had more free time in college than any point in my life since. In comparison, college is the easiest time of your life; in that sense, it is definitely possible.

In short:

In a typical college environment with an exotic animal, everyone who sees it wants to play with it. YOU CANT LET EVERYONE CROWD AND PLAY WITH YOUR CHAMELEON. This WILL stress it out.