Hornworms U.K.?

AngieL

Avid Member
Hey everyone!

Does anyone know where to get hornworms in the uk? I have had a look around the web but can't find any, just the moths! I have no bothers getting silkworms but fancied adding something new to keep a good variety going :)

Does anyone on here breed them maybe?

Thanks!

You won't find them for sale in the UK - they are considered to be a pest as they are an invasive species. I've been keeping chams for 4 years and never seen hornworms offered for sale over here. A friend of mine grows cabbages in her garden so she can feed off the cabbage white caterpillars. Never tried it myself though.

Don't think so, not in the UK. Someone may prove me wrong though, but I've never seen any. When my first cham was poorly hornworms were suggested as nice soft feeders, but I couldn't get any. The supply of silkworms over here isn't very consistent either so I breed my own now.

Good for you! I've just started getting them but not sure about breeding yet :) I get them from lizard lunch, they seem to have a steady supply!

Are silkworms good and easy to breed? Do you have to go into the moth stage? My misses is petrified of moths and the ones iv seen are well cool lol

Good for you! I've just started getting them but not sure about breeding yet :) I get them from lizard lunch, they seem to have a steady supply!
They are about the best supplier - or silkwormstore. I tend to buy eggs now though as I never seem to get the whole lot that I order to stay alive.

Are silkworms good and easy to breed? Do you have to go into the moth stage? My misses is petrified of moths and the ones iv seen are well cool lol