Fairly New Owner, Quick question on mouth

Sawa Cham

Guys, my cham "sawa" seems very healthy but every now and then, maybe twice a week I catch in her with her mouth cracked open for small periods of time. Im not sure exactly what that means, everytime I see her do it I spray or mist, or even spray her to be sure she isnt dehydrated although I know she isnt. I just need a little bit of insite on this issue. The cage has got a 60w daylight blub and a repti 5.0. I dont believe it gets to high, maybe 90 at the hottest but normally in the 80's during day.

IMG_20110224_154628.jpg

IMG_20110225_153414.jpg

IMG_20110224_154642.jpg

Hi..

I'm a newbie to the chamy too... but I understand that glass terrariums are not good for them.... it can cause respiratory problems...

It might be too hot... I caught mine with his mouth open today and yawning... so I also am checking the heat as soon as I get home..

Too hot. The fogger is probably not necessary. She may need to lay eggs soon.

So, I have heard reccomendations for the long fluorescent bulbs. You think the issue could be because Im using two screw in's? Im not sure if those flourescents are lower in temp. Lay eggs! Im not ready for that! I dont know what to do if she does or how to prepare!

Hi..

I'm a newbie to the chamy too... but I understand that glass terrariums are not good for them.... it can cause respiratory problems...

It might be too hot... I caught mine with his mouth open today and yawning... so I also am checking the heat as soon as I get home..

Yeah, mine yawns too! haha but I hear you on the glass terrariums. Everynow and then I just open both doors up for a couple of hours. I dont like her in there all the time so I try to get her in ouside when possible to get some good sun rays. Eventually im just going to build a cage, its cheaper and you can alter the to be as tall as you want. Prolly do that in a few weeks! She is about a half a year old.