Eggs Hatching, is THIS NORMAL???

lbesok

Avid Member
Today my boyfriend called to say that something funny was hatching out of our FIRST expected panther eggs that were laid at the end of March. We had been anticipating them to hatch, as they had shrunken in size.... (notice the size difference in the two eggs) For the entire incubation, they were placed in a drawer in the house at temps around the mid 70's while the humidity remained sufficient (moisture always collected on the top of the container). Here are two quick, crappy cell phone photos, apparently their seems to be movement from inside.....
2.jpg

5990996977_ORIG11jpeg.jpg

Though this is my first time, I have a very strong assumption this isn't normal, and I would like to get some feedback from you guys. Have you ever seen anything like this before? Should I expect the entire clutch to turn out this way? What exactly is popping out of my eggs, and why is one bloody? Is their any specific course of action that should be taken with them? Thanks in advance for any and all replies pertaining to this issue.

Last edited:
Do they not have any pigment?
I've seen this once before.
A breeder showed me photos of his.
They died shortly after hatching.:(

Edit* Your incubation temps are very warm.

Dude it's not even a Chameleon coming out that I'm aware of (again I apologise for the camera quality). More of like some sort of MASS?? Jared says that that part isn't the chameleon, but their is movement from the egg, as far as the goo ball getting bigger?!?! I'll try to post one additional picture shortly.

*Edit: Sorry Justin, I meant to say mid 70's lol

Last edited:
Mid 80's is way high. Mid/low 70's are more appropriate. Keep us posted, id like to see what this ends up being.

Sorry guys, earlier I was pre-occupied at work. The eggs were just incubated at the ambient room temp of the house which was around the mid 70's ;)