Cham is hiding and not eating much ?

Callum1168

Hi everyone, I am new to reptiles and have got my self a 4 or 5 month old male nosy be panther. I've had him 4 days now but the last 2 days he has been hiding underneath leaves during the day. I have a reptiglo 10.00 UVB. Could this be the reason, or could it because it has been very warm over the weekend. Also could some one tell me how many medium size crickets he should be eating ? Any help is much appreciated as I want to make him feel as comfy as possible! Thanks.

Hi! The 10.0 could be too bright for him. What enclosure do you have and is the light on the outside or the inside?

At that age he should be eating a lot, maybe 10-15 apropriately sized feeders, no bigger than the gap between his eyes is the general rule around here.

Can you fill in this form please? Then folks can maybe give you an idea of what's up witht he little guy :)https://www.chameleonforums.com/how-ask-help-66/

I agree with the above, 10% is too much for your little guy.
He is hiding because he has not gotten used to you and his new home yet.

You have only had him 4 days, he needs lots more time.
They usually explore their new cage when you first put them in. That's why you could see him, he was still in the
process of looking for hidding places. So by the 3rd day, he found some good ones and you havent seen him since! ;) that's pretty normal ;)

It can take a while before he comes out of hidding and realizes that you are not a preditor about to eat him!!

Look at my old posts on this subject of acclimation.

When he comes out in the open to bask and will eat in front of you (he knows when you are watching, even if you dont realize it) then you can start hand/cup feeding.

Make sure he sees your hand every day for feeding.
I would feed him about 10 crickets, maybe throw in a few more if he wont come out when your around and you have to "free range" hunt the crick down method.