are orchids safe?????

shiftyeyes

i am new to chams and was just wondering if orchids are a safe non toxic flower to put in the cage. i have a hawaiian umbrella tree and a corton in the cage right now, but i just wanted to add color. I live in Canada and no store or flower shop has a hibiscus right now. Maybe someone can tell me if there is another safe colorful flower that i can use that is non toxic....???

i am new to chams and was just wondering if orchids are a safe non toxic flower to put in the cage. i have a hawaiian umbrella tree and a corton in the cage right now, but i just wanted to add color. I live in Canada and no store or flower shop has a hibiscus right now. Maybe someone can tell me if there is another safe colorful flower that i can use that is non toxic....???

I do believe they are safe as i have seen many pictures with them being used with chameleons, However i would much rather you check a safe plants list then assume.

Honestly i have no idea, however i could have sworn i saw some pictures with chams and orchids.

Ah where were my manners? Welcome to the forum! I'm Dan, I'm fairly new to chameleons myself but am constantly trying to further my knowledge. Feel free to contact me if there is anything i could help with!
My girlfriend lauren is on here as well ( andallthatjazz )

You've come to an amazing place to learn about chameleons and their care!

Welcome!

i looked at the safe plant list to see if they were on there and i didnt see them thats why i asked, good thing i did lol. just wondering if there is another flower thatis safe for the cage then besides hibiscus?

Two that come to mind are the Ylang Ylang (Cananga odorata) plant that is known as the perfume tree. Plus the Lychee tree (Litchi chinensis) that are not toxic and flower however it is highly recommended that the seeds of these fruits should not be eaten.

I'm going to post more soon.

Last edited: